Leading up to Official Diagnose with Autism

My parents had brought me to the United States in 1992 and moved to Huntsville, AL after my dad had retired from the Air Force after serving twenty two years in the Military and my dad had gotten a job at the Home Depot in Huntsville then after being in Huntsville for a few months, we settled down in Millbrook, AL and my dad started working as a State Employee as a Computer Operator, When I was a toddler, my parents started to notice things that weren’t normal for a toddler like I didn’t crawl, didn’t babble, I didn’t have eye contact with people and I didn’t started talking for a while. My parents took me to Birmingham to see what was going on with me and when I was 4 years old after testing and lots of testing, I was diagnosed with Asperger’s Syndrome (a mild form of autism) and my parents didn’t know what Autism was at the time. After I was diagnosed, I think my parents thought in the back of their minds that my life was going to be different than everyone else and that I was going to have some challenges in life. My parents lives had changed completely after finding out what was going on with me, I can only imagine what was going through my parents’ minds when the doctor that diagnosed me was telling them. I know it must have been difficult for them to hear but I think at the same time it might have been a relief for them because they were able to help me even better. I’m thankful that my birthmom gave me both a mom and a dad that would raise me into the person I am today. I hope that someday that I will try to find her and get to know her better.

Leave a Reply

