Why I March and Took Part in the Women’s March on Washington in Birmingham

Yesterday, I got to take part in the Women’s March on Washington in Birmingham  Alabama and I’m glad that I took part in the march despite the challenges that I had to face due to my autism but that didn’t stop me from representing my brothers and sisters of both the LGBT community and Disability community, there were 5,000 to 10,000 people in attendance . I wanted to take part in this historic march because I wanted to help make a difference and to spread a message to our government that bigotry and hate won’t be tolerated in our society and in our U.S Political policies, as well as letting Donald Trump know that we won’t be silenced and that we won’t tolerate his bullying ways. I refuse to allow anymore mocking among my fellow brothers and sisters of the disability community on my watch, he doesn’t deserve the title president from me because he bullied a lot of people and the fact that he mocked a reporter with a disability was the last straw for me because he not only mocked the reporter but also the entire disability community including myself.

Yesterday, I marched for disability rights along with LGBT rights and Women’s Rights because they are all human rights and civil rights. I’m planning to be more involved than ever when it comes to politics especially here in Alabama, the upcoming legislative session in Alabama will be the most crucial yet especially with my brothers and sisters of the LGBT community. This march is only the beginning and we won’t be silenced and that’s why I march,  I’m fired up and ready to go. Are you?

 

 

Leave a Reply

