A New Beginning of the Next Step in a Spiritual Journey

We all have a point within ourselves and in our lives that we have questions of life and spirituality. Recently, I’ve started to have that time where I feel that there was something else missing within my spiritual identity but have been scared to search for what that truly is due to the fear of being a disappointment and a failure. I’ve been attending a Unitarian Universalist church since early November of 2014 and during that time I first walked into the door of the building for the very first time, I had to transition out of my past spiritual life where I was excluded and felt that I didn’t exist despite trying everything in my ability to be given a chance but that no one cared or wanted to try and I felt like an outcast in my past churches that I felt in secret was a nightmare but kept those feelings hidden because I didn’t want to disappoint my parents even though they love me and want to see me happy. I was also questioning the person that I really was as a teenager but felt that I couldn’t talk to anyone about how I was feeling and having to lie to myself because I was already dealing with exclusion and felt that I would’ve done something wrong at the time since the church’s views of LGBT things were not good which was wrong because we all have the right to love who we want to love.

Recently, I’ve started to become more fascinated with new age spirituality teachings along with the teachings of Oprah Winfrey and all that Unitarian Universalism teaches us. I believe that when we were created, God gave us universal energy to share with the world out of love and compassion towards one another along with taking care of the planet Earth. I feel that I’m a citizen of the universe, I believe that there’s a higher power that’s higher than myself , I call that the Spirit of God and that we are to help make the planet Earth a better and loving place for all people. I believe that all good people regardless of their beliefs and who they are, they’re granted life of eternity when those have passed on to the afterlife (Heaven). The God and Jesus I believe in is one that loves all people in the world but I also feel apart of the universal energy that we were given when we were born including our gifts that we share with the world. The more I learn about Unitarian Universalism, the more it feels right to me because I’m able to take the next step in my spiritual journey and not have the feeling of judgement from anyone. I also feel that it’s okay to love God and Jesus as well as like teachings from other forms of spirituality. I’m a Unitarian Universalist and I’m embraced by a loving community of the sweetest people I’ve ever met as well as being embraced by the spirit of love and acceptance.

 

With Love and Kindness,

Karen

 

 

p03shc8fshutterstock_explosion.jpg.CROP.original-original

 

Leave a Reply

