May is Mental Health Awareness Month

April’s Autism Acceptance Month and this month is Mental Health Awareness Month which has a personal touch for me. As you know, I have autism but along with that I also have generalized anxiety and social anxiety disorder, depression, and OCD. Although I have good days, I also have my hard days because I’ve struggled to fit in with society all my life because of the fact that my mind functions differently and I see the world differently than others. Living with both autism and mental health issues can be mentally exhausting along with sensory overloaded because I cope in unique ways and that’s where my love for Peter Pan comes in, I’ve always admire the character because Neverland in my eyes is a place where I can escape from my dark reality in my mind and it’s a place where I feel calm along with safe from all the hate that’s going on in society.

I’m a human being just like all of you, I just think and see things differently. I also have the right to live my life however I want to, and I have life dreams like everyone else. Although life can be rough at times, I put on my armor to face society because I’m human and valid.

Don’t hesitate to reach out for support and help because you’re not alone and you are loved along with seen.

With love,

Karen



Leave a comment